Navigating the buffet line at a friend’s party can be difficult when you have a food allergy or sensitivity. With a little planning, you can help your guests relax and enjoy the holiday season with you.
On a buffet line, clearly label dishes that contain milk, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts (almonds, cashews, walnuts), fish (bass, cod, flounder), shellfish (crab, lobster, shrimp), soy and wheat.
You can also label the items that are special made as “gluten-free” or “dairy-free.” If you are hosting a party with unknown guests, it is a good idea to offer some allergen-friendly options.
– Michelle Mambuca, C2 Communications